New Manuscript

In interviews I’ve told the story of how I was inspired to write If He had Been with Me by I dream I had as I was coming to the close of the darkest period of my life. I’m finally in a place where I am ready to write about what I was going through in that time, just before I wrote IHHBWM. This will be my first adult book.
The project I am working on is dark- definitely the darkest thing I’ve ever written. My characters aren’t characters to read about because you like them or agree with what they have to say. It’s going to be- hopefully- a book about twisted perspectives, about people who are lost and know they will never be found.

Thankfully, I made it out of that place. My characters though, probably won’t be so lucky.

3 thoughts on “New Manuscript

  1. Laura I just want to let you know I wasn’t much of a reader. I only read because of school, but reading ” if he had been with me” completely changed my perspective upon reading. I absolutely loved it, it hit me hard emotionally. The ending was cruel yet beautiful. I have absolutely fallen in love with it and hope they make a movie of it. It is the best piece of art I’ve ever readen, it’s so realistic, so real in a way. I know the chances of you responding to this comment is 1 out of a 1000 but it would mean a lot of you could come over to Texas to speak of your books and passions to my school.

    1. Hi Bryant! Thanks so much for your message. It always means the world to me to hear that a reader loved the book, and knowing that you changed your opinion on reading because of the book makes me extra happy. I also wish I could come to your school and speak, unfortunately, I’m not a big enough deal to have the money to go on tour. Thank you for your message, and keep reading! ❤

Leave a Reply

